Ministry of Law and Justice is the oldest limb of the Government of India dating back to 1833 when the Charter Act 1833 enacted by the British Parliament. The said Act vested for the first time legislative power in a single authority, namely the Governor General in Council. By virtue of this authority and the authority vested under him under section 22 of the Indian Councils Act 1861 the Governor General in Council enacted laws for the country from 1834 to 1920. After the commencement of the Government of India Act 1919 the legislative power was exercised by the Indian Legislature constituted thereunder. The Government of India Act 1919 was followed by the Government of India Act 1935. With the passing of the Indian Independence Act 1947 India became a Dominion and the Dominion Legislature made laws from 1947 to 1949 under the provisions of section 100 of the Government of India Act 1935 as adapted by the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. Under the Constitution of India which came into force on the 26th January 1950 the legislative power is vested in Parliament.


    Ministry of Law and Justice consists of three Departments, namely, the Legislative Department, the Department of Legal Affairs and the Department of Justice. The Legislative Department is mainly concerned with drafting of principal legislation for the Central Government, its publication and scrutiny and vetting of subordinate legislations made under Central Acts by various Ministries/Departments of the Government of India. It is also concerned with administration of Election Law and Electoral Reforms besides dealing with legislation in respect of certain concurrent field legislation such as civil procedure, personal law, etc. India Code, which consists of unrepealed Central Acts of all-India legislation enacted from the previous century and which are in force in the territory of India are available on the website of the Legislative Department.